Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

There really isn’t much to tell. It was a quiet day yesterday strolling around bordeaux, taking the train to Paris, having dinner and revisiting some favourite Parisienne sites.

We had the morning to wander around the city one last time. Where do you think we started? That’s right, our favourite boulangerie for one more pain au chocolat and cafe. They are so good; flaky pastry surrounding tasty pieces of dark chocolate. I have consumed so many ‘white carbs’ this trip it’s ridiculous, but so tasty. I think my body will reject whole grains when I go back to my normal diet next week.

So much white flour!

So much white flour!

We then visited the local Art Gallery. It is small but had a good overview of bordelaise artists, including some great Marquets.

Bordeaux Musee des Beaux Art

Bordeaux Musee des Beaux Art

image

And a picture of the harbour in the early 1800s. It looks remarkably similar to the way it is now, just less busy.

image

The train ride was a relaxing three hours with nothing else to do but read. For a lot of people this might be boring but I love reading and didn’t put down my book the entire time. I finished my second book this trip- Bossypants by Tina Fey. She is smart and I like her observational humour.

Train station at Bordeaux

Train station at Bordeaux

Waiting for the train

Waiting for the train

For dinner we dined on a huge platter of seafood. The sommelier complimented my french, which made me feel less self conscious about my Anglo accent. It has been years since I really spoke french so it was nice to hear.

image

This is what arrived at our table- Oysters, lobster, crab, mussels and escargot. Just look at how huge that tower is.

image

Afterward we strolled past the Eiffel Tower, across to the Champs Élysées and up to the arc de triomphe. I never get tired of seeing these buildings at night. Spectacular.

image

image

image

Along the way we saw a silver bear with a funnel of wine up his butt. Huh??? I don’t get it either. This is a window for a clothing store and not a contemporary art gallery. In Paris I guess the two are interchangeable.

image

And some Frank Gerhy panels flanking Louis Vuitton purses. Dave was shocked that a purse could cost over 3,000 euros. He clearly leads a very sheltered life.

image

A quick subway ride to the hotel, and we arrived back around 1:00 am. I love that this late in the evening the streets and metro are packed with people. They weren’t drunk, they were just out taking in the sights.